AGENDA

3 Dec 2022
12:00-18:00
10 Dec 2022

BODILY SITUATIONS
Programme of performances

19:00-22:00

ECHOES, 10.6. – 16.7.2022

Lara Dâmaso with Nikima Jagudajev, Tarren Johnson, Mario Petrucci Espinoza

PART 1
Fr, 10.6.2022
18:00 Vernissage
19:00 Performance Lara Dâmaso
20:00 Dj set HAYA33
22:00 Dj set soungou

PART 2
Fr, 24.6.2022
19:00 Performance Mario Espinoza

Sa, 25.6.2022
19:00 Performances Nikima Jagudajev
20:00 Performance Tarren Johnson
21:00 Dj set Tina Omayemi Reden

Finissage
Sa, 16.7.2022, 12:00-18:00

Opening hours
Thu/Fr, 17:00-20:00
Sa/Su, 12:00-18:00


"The voice is stubbornly, insistently, unabashedly bodily"
– Adriana Cavarero, «For More Than One Voice: Towards a Philosophy of Vocal Expression» (2005)

ECHOES is a two-part exhibition in the form of a Carte Blanche to performance artist Lara Dâmaso (1996, Biel/Bienne, lives in Zurich), in which she continues her research on the agency of the voice and its intimate, emotional, therapeutic and political potential. The environment of KRONE COURONNE serves as a platform for her and the voices of her invited artists (Nikima Jagudajev, Tarren Johnson and Mario Petrucci Espinoza) in an attempt to access new forms of vocal communication, beyond language.

The artist sees voice as an equal medium to body movement and dance – an agent, which generates vibrations and connects the physical and emotional body to the environment in which it moves. To her, the voice's potential - as one of the most essential forms of human expression - is only partially explored, not to say ignored, feared or censored.

As stated in Anne Carson’s text “The Gender of Sound” (1995), feminine voices are connoted as emotional and shrill, while masculine ones reflect self-control, confidence and rationality. Breaking away from the dominant practice of logos, the voice - in its uncontrolled, dissonant and emotionally-complex dimension - invokes a plurality of singular voices that intertwine with one another. As Adriana Cavarero writes in “For More than One Voice: Towards a Philosophy of Vocal Expression” (2005): ‘[...] what is undeniable in the sound of each voice is the embodied, relational uniqueness of each existent’.

ECHOES is an invitation to dialogue and to open up space for voices to meet and respond to one another, to gain in corporeality and existence, and to become singular and political.

Press release (PDF) & Exhibition text by Olamiju Fajemisin

Exhibition generously supported by the foundations Gubler-Hablützel, Anne-Marie Schindler and Georg und Josi Guggenheim.

Photos: 1-14 © Guadalupe Ruiz, 15-25 © James Bantone.

AGENDA

10 juin 2022

PART 1 ECHOES

Vernissage

18:00

Performance Lara Dâmaso

19:00

Dj sets HAYA33 et soungou

20:00
24 juin 2022

PART 2 ECHOES

Performance Mario Espinoza

19:00
25 juin 2022

PART 2 ECHOES

Performance Nikima Jagudajev

19:00

Performance Tarren Johnson

20:00

Dj set Tina Omayemi Reden

21:00
22 juil. 2022

SILHOUETTES

ECHOES, 10.6. – 16.7.2022

Lara Dâmaso avec Nikima Jagudajev, Tarren Johnson, Mario Petrucci Espinoza

PART 1
Ve, 10.6.2022
18:00 Vernissage
19:00 Performance Lara Dâmaso
20:00 DJ set HAYA33
22:00 DJ set soungou

PART 2
Ve, 24.6.2022
19:00 Performance Mario Espinoza

Sa, 25.6.2022
19:00 Performances Nikima Jagudajev
20:00 Performance Tarren Johnson
21:00 DJ set Tina Omayemi Reden

Finissage
Sa, 16.7.2022, 12:00-18:00

Horaires d'ouverture
Je/ve, 17:00-20:00
Sa/dim, 12:00-18:00


«The voice is stubbornly, insistently, unabashedly bodily»
– Adriana Cavarero, «For More Than One Voice: Towards a Philosophy of Vocal Expression» (2005)

ECHOES est une exposition en deux parties sous forme de carte blanche à l'artiste performance Lara Dâmaso (1996, Biel/Bienne, vit à Zurich). À travers cette exposition, elle poursuit sa recherche autour de la voix et de son potentiel intime, émotionnel, thérapeutique et politique. L’environnement de la KRONE COURONNE sert de plateforme à la voix de l’artiste et de ses trois artistes invité-ex-s (Nikima Jagudajev, Tarren Johnson et Mario Espinoza) avec la volonté d'accéder à de nouvelles formes de communication vocale, au-delà du langage.

L’artiste considère la voix comme un médium égal au mouvement du corps et à la danse. Un vecteur qui provoque des vibrations et qui connecte le corps physique et émotionnel à l'environnement dans lequel il se déplace. En tant que forme d’expression humaine, la voix et son potentiel ne sont, selon elle, que partiellement explorés, pour ne pas dire ignorés, craints ou censurés.

Comme l’écrit Anne Carson dans son texte «The Gender of Sound» (1995), les voix féminines sont connotées comme émotives et stridentes, tandis que celles masculines reflètent la maîtrise de soi, la confiance et la rationalité. Se détachant de la pratique dominante du logos, la voix (dans sa dimension incontrôlée, dissonante et émotionnellement complexe) invoque la pluralité de voix singulières, qui viennent se lier entre elles. Adriana Cavarero dit dans «For More than One Voice: Towards a Philosophy of Vocal Expression» (2005): «[...] ce qui est indéniable dans le son de chaque voix, c’est l’unicité incarnée et relationnelle de chaque être existant».

ECHOES est une invitation au dialogue et à l'ouverture d'espace, permettant à différentes voix de se rejoindre, de se répondre, de gagner en existence, et de devenir singulières et politiques.

Communiqué de presse (PDF)

Exposition généreusement soutenue par les fondations Gubler-Hablützel, Anne-Marie Schindler et Georg und Josi Guggenheim.